The blacksmith shop today is a museum and was in operation from 1889 to 1965.
Founded in 1889 by Wilhelm Frehrking sen. Frehrking quickly won over the farmers of Helstorf and the surrounding area as customers for farriery and iron tyre fitting,
In 1919, his son Wilhelm Frehrking jun. took over the business.
The blacksmith's shop and its outbuildings now adorn the town of Neustadt as a museum. In 1989, the first shoeing took place again. On every third Sunday of the month from April to October, the blacksmiths demonstrate their craft, and visitors can then try out for themselves (under guidance) how iron is worked.
In the neighbouring museum barnthere are five old looms and spinning wheels that are worked on regularly.
Der Eintritt ist frei.
An den Besichtigungstagen gibt es für die Besucher Kaffee und selbst gebackenen Kuchen sowie Bratwürste.